Human Resources

Benefits

See www.hr.ubc.ca/benefits/

Forms

How to Hire Workers

What is the average monthly salary for LFS student workers?
Student pay rates (whether they are undergrad, masters or PhD students) are variable and entirely up to the PI’s discretion. $1,000 per month seems to be the minimum. Some PI’s pay more per month, depending on their budget.

What is the average hourly rate for LFS student research assistants (undergrads, masters and PhD students)?
We do not have an average hourly pay rate for undergrad, masters, PhD student workers. If the student is paid by the hour, the PI should bear in mind that BC’s minimum hourly rate is currently $13. Some PI’s choose to pay their students up to $20-30 per hour. Pay ranges from $13-$15 for undergrads, $20-$24 for graduate students, but ultimately, it depends on the PI’s budget.

What does LFS HR need from the PI/supervisor to hire a new student worker?

  • Dates of employment
  • Speedchart
  • Salary amount: paid a set monthly amount or paid by the hour?
  • SIN
  • Student’s email address
  • Direct deposit
  • Personal data form
  • Tax forms
  • Study permit if applicable
  • Mandatory training for all employees: http://rms.ubc.ca/training-and-general-education-courses/mandatory-training-for-all-ubc-workers/
  • If student is working in a lab space, inform student of mandatory lab training modules that must be completed before lab access is granted to student worker.

Can I hire a student who’s already graduated? Can I hire a student before they start at UBC?
We have a 3-month grace period for graduating students. You can hire the graduated student as a student worker within 3 months of their graduation/convocation date, or within 3 months of attending UBC (as long as they have a valid study permit and it doesn’t exclude them from working on campus). Beyond the 3-month mark, the student must be hired as a staff employee based upon UBC staff pay scales and job descriptions must be developed and approved by HR Compensation.

Are students entitled to vacation time?
No, students are not entitled to vacation time. However, students with paid appointments receive 4% vacation pay in their pay cheques.

What does LFS HR need from the PI/supervisor to hire a new staff employee?

What are the pay rates for Staff employees?
Please refer to the staff pay scales at http://www.hr.ubc.ca/compensation/salary-administration/salary-scales/

Do faculty and staff workers get vacation time and how much per year?
Faculty and Staff can refer to this link: http://www.hr.ubc.ca/wellbeing-benefits/benefits/details/vacation-leaves/vacation/

What is the vacation carryover allowed for Staff employees?
A maximum of 10 business days is allowed. Carrying over more than 10 days is permitted if you provide rationale in advance and have written consent from your supervisor. You must agree to use your excess vacation by either the end of January/February/March, depending on how excessive it is. For further discussion, please contact Mona Lee or Barb Hsiao.

Benefits Cost Calculator for Employers
This form will allow you to determine the cost to your P/G of an employee's benefits and statutory deductions.

Personnel Absence Tracker (PAT) Guidelines
The Personnel Absence Tracker (PAT) is an online attendance management system that was developed by UBC IT Services. It eliminates the need for paper forms while still ensuring that requests are entered and tracked in a timely and accurate manner. The system is web-based and allows staff employees to enter their own leave requests directly into PAT electronically. Supervisors receive email notifications of pending requests needing their approval. Employees will be able to track their own accruals themselves.

NOTE: PAT access is specifically for staff employees and those who supervise staff and approve their absences.

https://pat.ubc.ca/ and select The Faculty of Land and Food Systems from the list.

Vacation, Sick and Medical Appointments

For Hourly Employees

This vacation request form is for the use of hourly-paid staff employees only (i.e. staff who submit payroll time sheets). Please complete the vacation form. It must be signed by your supervisor. Deliver or mail the completed form to Clare Choi at UBC Payroll Office, 5th floor-TEF3 Building, 6190 Agronomy Rd.  Note: You must provide Mona Lee with a copy of your completed vacation form for LFS record-keeping.

For Miscellaneous Farm Workers

Hourly Timesheets

Submit hourly timesheets to Mona Lee. Deadlines are listed below.

2019 Pay Period Hourly Timesheet due at 12 pm on: 2019 Pay Day Timesheet
Jan 1-15 Tue, Jan 15 Wed, Jan 23  download
Jan 16-31 Thu, Jan 31 Fri, Feb 8  download
Feb 1-15 Wed, Feb 13 Fri, Feb 22  download
Feb 16-28 Thu, Feb 28 Fri, Mar 8  download
Mar 1-15 Thu, Mar 14 Fri, Mar 22  download
Mar 16-31 Wed, Mar 27 Mon, Apr 8  download
Apr 1-15 Fri, Apr 12 Tue, Apr 23  download
Apr 16-30 Tue, Apr 30 Wed, May 8  download
May 1-15 Tue, May 14 Thu, May 23  download
May 16-31 Thu, May 30 Fri, Jun 7  download
Jun 1-15 Thu, Jun 13 Fri, Jun 21  download
Jun 16-30 Thu, Jun 27 Mon, Jul 8  download
Jul 1-15 Mon, Jul 15 Tue, Jul 23  download
Jul 16-31 Tue, Jul 30 Thu, Aug 8  download
Aug 1-15 Thu, Aug 15 Fri, Aug 23  download
Aug 16-31 Wed, Aug 28 Fri, Sep 6  download
Sep 1-15 Fri, Sep 13 Mon, Sep 23  download
Sep 16-30 Mon, Sep 30 Tue, Oct 8  download
Oct 1-15 Tue, Oct 15 Wed, Oct 23  download
Oct 16-31 Thu, Oct 31 Fri, Nov 8  download
Nov 1-15 Thu, Nov 14 Fri, Nov 22  download
Nov 16-30 Thu, Nov 28 Fri, Dec 6  download
Dec 1-15 Fri, Dec 13 Mon, Dec 23  download
Dec 16-31 Fri, Dec 20 Wed, Jan 8  download